Marlon


Marlon Brando in A Streetcar Named Desire

I realise that the writing on this forum every so often is closely tied with the cinematic arts. I guess the saying of sticking to one thing if you do it, well somewhat well, goes here. On another note, going into this  (hah! It's hardly rocket science, is it?) I always knew what this forum would specifically never be allowed to be about. 1) Essentially, I'm not an interesting person enough to willingly disclose all my daily doabouts and whereabouts or going into length in search of the man behind no myths, yours truly that is (Neither, do I find most of those who do to be, so no need there in feeling sorry for me) 2) I'll be damned if I ever start mindlessly and self-indulgently writing about the things worn on my back or someone else's.Thus nowhere am I in the state to start addresseing critique on the, should we say, wardrobe of today. 

You realise quickly though that even occasionly hosting space for utter unimportances and random guilty pleasures can have legitmy as long as it's done under the pretense of something else or at least in a context that shifts focus into something  just a little bit more mindful and worthwhile. As this is as self-conscious as I'll ever get, I might as well throw in doing something which will definitely be a one-off and remember it as a promise, why don't you? 

Now, given what was just said, I do think that the t-shirt, casual as it is, can result in a very efforlessly smart and good look. Well, provided it is not too loosly or snuggly-fitting and is simple. Black or just white. Afterthought; maybe just black for some people. After all, there is one's complexion to think about... However, in regard to this piece of garment my take is not at all of any interest. No no, what I offer on the subject is of very little worth, please rest assured. Nevertheless, I rather find it interesting to learn what impact the film industry of the wicked west originally had on the boost of sales and popularity of the t-shirt.

Once nothing more than an utile cotton garment worn merely as an undershirt by the army troups in WWI (Apparently, less clear is whose army is to be credited for this introduction. Allegedly, the French Army, British Navy and the British Navy are all exclusively claiming) The film industry would later play a significant part in popularizing the t-shirt, creating a new trend by an original use of this garment that already existed in the wardrobe of every male but was never ever seen worn out on the streets (apart from on the back of construction workers on particularly hot days)

Most notably it was Marlon Brando wearing the t-shirt in Elia Kazan's classic A Streetcar Named Desire that would render this shift. The t-shirt he wore was a "sexualised reimagining" of the standard t-shirt at the time. Up until then t-shirts had no shape, no fit.With the film's costume designer Lucinda Ballard the t-shirt became more accentuating of the physique and revealing, as it was sewn in at the back for Brando. Impressively, Ballard's work on A Streetcar Named Desire earned her an Oscar for costume design. James Dean mimicking his idol Brando would later wear the t-shirt in Rebel Without a Cause and the two would subsequently become advocates of it for a new generation of men; as resorting to clichés will have me say.



 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0